This page in 30 seconds.
- The count: 23 licensed insurers, takaful operators and foreign branches, 2 third-party administrators and 5 loss adjusters with a Doha presence, 30 companies in the tables below and 1 in run-off listed separately.
- The regulators: the Qatar Central Bank (QCB) licenses the onshore market but no longer publishes a public register; the QFC Regulatory Authority (QFCRA) publishes one for firms in the Qatar Financial Centre. Register and company sites checked 14 to 16 September 2026.
- Claims channels: 17 of the 23 insurers describe a claims channel on their own site. Apps, portals and WhatsApp numbers are common. None of the 23 sites mentions video.
What this list is
This is a reference list of the insurance companies operating in Qatar, compiled from the two regulators and the Qatar Stock Exchange rather than from a directory. It covers conventional insurers, takaful operators, foreign branches, third-party administrators (TPAs) and loss adjusters, and it names the claims channel each insurer advertises on its own website.
The people who need this list (claims managers, brokers, reinsurance analysts, insurtech founders sizing the Gulf) usually end up on a sales-lead site with 49 unverified records or on a PDF from 2019. We built the underlying list for our own work on claims evidence and decided to publish it. Where a company could not be verified, the notes say so instead of guessing.
Try it on your own phone
Want to see what a guided capture looks like?
Request a capture link and we email you one. Open it on your phone, follow the steps, and see exactly what your customer or field team would see. No app, no account.
How this list was built
Qatar has two insurance regulators, and that shapes what can and cannot be verified:
- Qatar Central Bank (QCB): licenses every onshore insurer, takaful operator and foreign branch, and since QCB Decision 7/2019 also TPAs, loss adjusters and surveyors. QCB used to publish a directory of licensed insurers. Since the 2023 relaunch of qcb.gov.qa every old directory path returns a 404 and no replacement has appeared. So the QCB rows below are reconstructed from the Qatar Stock Exchange listings, the Oxford Business Group Qatar 2025 insurance chapter and its 2019 chapter (linked in the sources file), and each company's own licence statement.
- QFC Regulatory Authority (QFCRA): publishes a live register of authorised insurance firms for companies in the Qatar Financial Centre. Fetched 16 September 2026: 10 insurance firms and 6 intermediaries, each with a QFC number and status. Every QFC row in the tables comes from that register.
- Qatar Stock Exchange: the seven listed insurers (QATI, DOHI, QGRI, AKHI, QISI, BEMA, QLMI) are all in the table.
What is included and what is not:
- Included in the insurer table: the reinsurer (Oman Re's QFC branch), life-only and health-only companies (QLM, MetLife, AWP Health & Life, Zurich International Life), one captive (Al Awael) and one inactive licence (Zurich Insurance Company Ltd, "Authorised - Inactive" on the QFCRA register since June 2024). They hold a licence, so they are listed.
- Listed separately: MedGulf Takaful's QFC branch, "Authorised - Closed to New Business" since February 2025, under "Changes since the register".
- Not included: QFC intermediaries (brokers), QCB-licensed representative offices, the Qatari Unified Bureau for orange-card motor cover, and the price-comparison platform QCB licensed in July 2026. Qatar Takaful Company appears in directories but we could not confirm a separate current licence.
- TPAs and loss adjusters: QCB licenses them but publishes no list, so those rows come from the companies' own sites. Crawford & Company covers Qatar from Dubai without a Doha office and is not listed.
Licensed and not listed, or listed wrongly: mail support@ventavid.com and we correct it.
The market in numbers
- QAR 7.5 billion (USD 2.1 billion) of gross written premium in Qatar's general insurance market in 2023, with a forecast CAGR above 5% for 2024 to 2028, according to GlobalData.
- Non-life is 97.2% of premium. Life and family cover had a penetration of 0.02% in 2022, and total insurance penetration was 0.8% in 2023 against a GCC average of 1.5%, the lowest in the region (Oxford Business Group, Qatar 2024).
- Motor is the largest retail line: 17.9% of non-life premium in 2022 per OBG, and "more than 18%" of general insurance premium in 2023 per GlobalData. Health is the other large line.
- Third-party motor liability is compulsory. Under Article 98 of the executive regulations of Traffic Law No. 19 of 2007, cover is required to register a vehicle, as stated by Al Koot and QIC: "a car cannot be registered without at least 12 months of insurance coverage".
- One company writes most of it. As of Q3 2024, conventional insurers held 93% of business by revenue and takaful 7%. Within conventional, QIC held about 70%, Doha Insurance Group 13%, QLM 10% and Qatar General 7% (OBG, Qatar 2025).
- Health insurance became mandatory for non-Qatari residents and visitors under the law enacted in May 2022, and Qatar's first digital insurance and digital takaful regulations came into force in April 2024 (OBG, Qatar 2025).
The licensed list
Company names are as they appear on the register or the QSE. Lines are the main lines the company itself names; long lists are cut short.
Licensed insurers, takaful operators and foreign branches (23)
Third-party administrators (TPAs) (2)
Loss adjusters and assessment entities (5)
Changes since the register
- MedGulf Takaful, QFC branch: 'Authorised - Closed to New Business' since 16/02/2025: in run-off.
How claims are filed in Qatar today
We read the claims pages of every insurer in the table. This is what each one says about its own channels, checked 14 to 16 September 2026. Where a site does not say, we say so.
The market leader runs a retail platform. QIC's retail site, qic.online, has per-line claims pages for motor, home, travel, boat and personal accident, a "track a claim" page tied to a personal account, a hotline and a WhatsApp chat open daily from 7 am to 8 pm. For a motor claim the site says you can "file your claim instantly on our website or call our hotline", then email the documents: the police report, Qatar ID, registration, licence and repair permit, "preferably obtained through Metrash or official MOI Services". QIC promises contact within one business day.
Apps and portals are the norm among the listed companies. Doha Insurance Group promotes its app for "instant claims processing" and claims-status alerts, next to a WhatsApp chat. QIIC has an online general-claim form with entry points for motor, medical, travel, domestic and marine, an app and a WhatsApp number. Shamel (Doha Takaful) lists its app and a WhatsApp line. Beema lists a phone line, a dedicated claims WhatsApp number, email and an online claim-intimation form that works without a login. Al Khaleej Takaful's customer app carried a new-claim flow for motor, medical and personal accident when we checked it on 14 September; its site could not be reached on 16 September.
The QFC insurers lean on email and document lists. SEIB's motor claims page asks you to gather "driving license, car registration, Metrash message/police report, damage photos" and to "submit your claim by emailing your claim form along with other documents of proof", with a WhatsApp option and a response "within 24 hours from the time of intimation subject to the office hours". SEIB also has apps on both stores. Sharq Insurance offers a "File a Claim" button in its Sharq Online portal, email, WhatsApp and a claims office, and asks for the "accident report or SMS issued by Traffic Department". GIG Gulf routes car claims through its MyGIG customer portal ("submit, track and manage your claims"), with separate online forms for health, home and travel and a toll-free line.
Al Koot puts the police report first. Its motor claims page tells the customer to "immediately report the incident to the police and obtain an official police report", then notify Al Koot by email, WhatsApp or at an office with copies of the traffic police report, registration, licence and Qatar ID. After that, "the claims staff will notify you to take your vehicle to an authorized agency/garage". Its online portal covers policies and claims.
Foreign branches. Libano-Suisse's Qatar site lists WhatsApp, a phone line, a mobile app and a claims-procedures section organised by accident type. MetLife has a "Report a claim" page and the myMetLife app. Arabia Insurance's site offered a contact form with a "claim enquiry" option and a toll-free number on 14 September; it could not be reached on 16 September. Misr Insurance's parent site was unreachable, so its channel is not stated.
Not verified. QGIRCO and General Takaful block automated access, so their claims channels are not stated here. Logistics Insurance and Al Awael Captive have no public site. The two TPAs, GlobeMed Qatar and Nextcare, run member portals and apps for medical claims.
Two patterns hold across the table. Motor claims in Qatar start with the traffic police record, often delivered through the Ministry of Interior's Metrash app as a message, and every insurer that describes its process asks for that record plus documents and photos sent by email, portal, app or WhatsApp. And not one of the 23 insurer sites mentions video, guided capture or any check on when and where the photos were taken.
What this means if you handle claims
Every channel above accepts photos the customer already has on the phone. An emailed "damage photos" attachment, a WhatsApp image, a gallery upload into an app: the handler receives a file and decides on it, with no way to tell whether it was taken at the roadside that morning or pulled from a repair estimate six months ago.
Venta Capture, a product of VentaVid, is built for that gap. The insurer sends a secure, personal capture link by SMS, WhatsApp or email. The customer opens it in the phone's browser (no app, no account) and is guided step by step: plate, each side of the car, the damage close up, the traffic report, a spoken description. Photos and video recorded in the session are marked "Taken via Venta Capture" with a server-verified receipt time. If the customer adds an older photo instead, it is labelled "Provenance: Not verified" and checked on metadata and on whether it already exists online, so the handler knows which is which. The submission arrives as a sealed case: a SHA-256 fingerprint, a session timeline and a manifest a third party can verify, which is what the remote claim inspection page describes in detail.
Two limits. The timestamp proves when the submission was received, not when the accident happened. And signals are reasons for a person to look, never a verdict on a claimant. Nothing in this replaces the Metrash report or the garage inspection; it makes the photos that arrive before them worth more.
It is free to try, with no card. Start for free and send a test link to your own phone.
Frequently asked questions
How many insurance companies are licensed in Qatar?
Our count on 16 September 2026 is 23 licensed insurers, takaful operators and foreign branches (14 onshore under the Qatar Central Bank and 9 in the Qatar Financial Centre), plus one QFC branch in run-off. Oxford Business Group counted 16 providers in 2023 because a market overview leaves out the captive, the reinsurer, the life-only branches and the inactive licence. Seven insurers are listed on the Qatar Stock Exchange.
Who regulates insurance in Qatar?
Two bodies. The Qatar Central Bank supervises onshore insurers, takaful operators, foreign branches and, since 2019, TPAs and loss adjusters, but no longer publishes a register online. The QFC Regulatory Authority licenses firms in the Qatar Financial Centre and publishes a public register.
Is motor insurance compulsory in Qatar?
Yes. Third-party liability cover is required under the executive regulations of Traffic Law No. 19 of 2007, and a vehicle cannot be registered without it. Comprehensive cover is optional. Motor is the largest retail line in the market at around 18% of general premium.
What is a TPA, and which ones operate in Qatar?
A third-party administrator handles claims and member services on behalf of an insurer, mostly in medical cover. In Qatar the two with a Doha presence are GlobeMed Qatar and Nextcare Qatar. QCB licenses TPAs but publishes no list, so their status is taken from their own sites.
What does a loss adjuster do, and who is in Doha?
A loss adjuster investigates and values larger or complex claims, mainly property, construction, marine and energy. McLarens, Sedgwick, Charles Taylor, ACES Qatar and Arab Loss Adjusters have Doha offices.
How do I check whether an insurer is licensed in Qatar?
For a QFC firm, search the QFCRA register linked above; it shows the QFC number and whether the licence is active, inactive or closed to new business. For an onshore insurer there is no public register at the moment: check the company's own licence statement (most print their QCB licence number on the site) and, if in doubt, ask QCB directly.
Keep the list honest
Registers change: licences lapse, branches close to new business, takaful arms get rebranded. We refresh this page when the QFCRA register or the QSE listings change, and when readers point out a gap. If you run a claims operation in Qatar and want to see a guided, sealed submission next to the emailed photos you receive today, book a demo and bring one real motor claim to compare. Related reading: insurance claims statistics, the FNOL and motor claim glossary entries, and the Venta Capture product overview.

