This page in 30 seconds.
- The count: 29 licensed insurers (including 2 takaful operators, 2 reinsurers, 2 foreign branches and 1 mortgage guarantee company), 12 third-party administrators and 14 loss adjusters, plus Najm and Taqdeer, the two motor accident assessment entities. One further insurer on the register has an expired licence date and is listed separately.
- The source: the Insurance Authority's "Licensed Companies" register, PDF dated 10 September 2026. Market numbers come from the Authority's 2025 market report and Milliman's year-end 2025 industry update.
- Claims channels: 20 of the 29 insurers describe a claims channel on their own site. Apps and web portals dominate; two mention WhatsApp; none describes video. Motor accidents run through Najm first, not the insurer.
This is a reference list, not a ranking. It covers every company the Saudi Insurance Authority (IA) licenses as an insurer, reinsurer, foreign branch, third-party administrator (TPA), loss adjuster or motor assessment entity, transcribed from the register of 10 September 2026 and enriched from the companies' own sites and exchange filings.
We built it for people who work in or sell to Saudi claims operations: claims managers, brokers, TPAs, insurtech vendors and anyone mapping the market before a sales trip to Riyadh. The register itself is an image-only PDF, so it does not search, sort or link. This page does.
After the tables you'll find the market in numbers, how claims are filed today according to the insurers' own sites, and what that means if you handle claims in the Kingdom.
How this list was built
- Regulator: the Insurance Authority (IA), which took over insurance supervision from the Saudi Central Bank (SAMA). The old SAMA register page no longer resolves.
- Register: the IA's Licensed Companies PDF dated 10 September 2026, eight slides transcribed by hand because the file is image-only.
- Included: every entity in the categories insurance and reinsurance companies, foreign branches, third-party administrators, and assessors and loss adjusters. Reinsurers (Saudi Re, Riyadh Re), health-only insurers (Bupa Arabia, Saudi Enaya, the Cigna branch), the mortgage guarantee company Dhamanat and the medical-only TPAs are in the tables, marked in the lines column, because they hold the licence. Two companies licensed as both agent and TPA (Tree Digital, Waad AlRaqmi) are in the TPA table.
- Excluded on purpose: roughly 95 brokers, 6 aggregators, 25 agents, 3 consultancies and 11 actuarial firms that the register also lists. They are not insurers, TPAs or adjusters.
- Listed separately: one insurer whose register entry shows a licence expiry date in 1441 AH (2020) and which does not appear in the 2025 listed-company data. We did not find a public notice of suspension, run-off or merger, so it sits under "Changes since the register" rather than in the table.
- Enrichment: main lines and city come from each company's own site or its Tadawul profile. Where a site blocked access, the city reads "not stated". Nothing was guessed.
Licensed and not listed, or listed wrongly: mail support@ventavid.com and we correct it.
Try it on your own phone
Want to see what a guided capture looks like?
Request a capture link and we email you one. Open it on your phone, follow the steps, and see exactly what your customer or field team would see. No app, no account.
The market in numbers
For the wider claims picture across markets, see our insurance claims statistics.
- Gross written premiums reached SAR 84.3 billion in 2025, up 10.7% on 2024, according to the Insurance Authority's 2025 market report, as reported by TradeArabia. Health and motor together accounted for nearly 89% of that growth.
- Medical is 57.3% of premium, motor 17.9%, property and casualty 15.0% and protection and savings 9.8%, across the 24 Tadawul-listed insurers (SAR 83.2 billion), per Milliman's year-end 2025 industry update.
- Three companies write two thirds of the market. Tawuniya (29%), Bupa Arabia (25%) and Al Rajhi Takaful (13%) held 67% of listed-company GWP in 2025; the top ten averaged SAR 7.3 billion, the remaining fourteen SAR 733.7 million, per the same Milliman report.
- Motor premium grew, motor profit did not. Motor gross contribution written rose to SAR 14.9 billion in 2025 from SAR 13.0 billion, while Milliman records the sector's profit decline as "mainly concentrated in the Motor segment". Sector net income fell 40.8% to SAR 2.2 billion.
- 11 million insured vehicles and more than 14 million health beneficiaries at the end of 2025, per the Insurance Authority report as summarised by TradeArabia. Claims paid reached SAR 53 billion, up 10%.
- Third-party motor cover is compulsory. The Unified Compulsory Motor Insurance Policy sets the minimum third-party liability cover for every vehicle in the Kingdom, with a limit of SAR 10 million per event for bodily injury and material damage combined.
- The regulator is active on conduct. The Authority handled more than 440,000 complaints and issued more than 180 enforcement decisions in 2025, with fines of roughly SAR 25 million, per the same report summary.
The licensed list
Company names are as they appear on the register, with the trading name in brackets where the register uses a transliteration. "Main lines" is the licensed activity type (general, medical, protection and savings, reinsurance); the register does not split general into motor, property and so on.
Licensed insurers, takaful operators and foreign branches (29)
Third-party administrators (TPAs) (12)
Loss adjusters and assessment entities (15)
Najm and Taqdeer are "assessment entities" rather than loss adjusters in the usual sense: Najm attends and documents motor accidents and apportions fault for every insurer in the Kingdom, and Taqdeer, run with the Saudi Authority for Accredited Valuers, assesses minor vehicle damage electronically so the insurer can settle. Najm is also licensed as a TPA.
Several adjuster names are register transliterations. Where we could match a trading name it reads: Almueayinun Al-Arab is Arab Loss Adjusters, Alsharq Alawsat Alealamia is Middle East International Loss Adjusting, Alnobolaa is NILACO (Nobles Inspection and Loss Adjusting), Naseem Almuhit is Naseem Ocean Inspection and Survey, and Aleinaya Alshamila in the TPA table is Total Care Saudi.
Changes since the register
- Saudi Indian Company for Cooperative Insurance (Wafa): on the register with a licence expiry of 3/6/1441 AH (2020). Not among the 24 listed insurers in the 2025 industry data and no public claims channel found. Status (suspension, run-off or merger) could not be verified; treat as inactive until the Authority confirms otherwise.
How claims are filed in Saudi Arabia today
Start with the motor line, because it works differently from anywhere else in the Gulf. A driver in a minor accident does not call the insurer first. They report to Najm, whose app lets them report the accident, take photos of the scene, track the investigator's arrival on a map and follow the accident report status. Najm documents the crash and apportions fault; the insurer receives the report and settles. For minor damage, the Taqdeer system launched by TAQEEM and Najm produces an electronic damage assessment, initially in 40 cities. The photo, in other words, is already taken at the assessment stage, by the customer or the investigator, before the claim reaches the insurer's own channel.
From there, the insurers' own sites describe four kinds of channel:
- A claims app. Tawuniya describes claim submission and tracking in its super app and a separate Tawuniya Drive app for motor. Malath lists an app to submit motor claims and track their status, plus motor claim centres. MEDGULF describes claim tracking, including cash claims and pre-approvals, in its app. Al-Etihad released an app in March 2024 to file and track claims. Bupa Arabia submits claims through its app, and Al Rajhi Takaful describes claims tracking in its app and a WhatsApp chat entry on the site.
- A web portal. Arabian Shield runs an online motor claims submission with separate third-party and comprehensive routes and a four-step flow that ends in a documents upload. SAICO has a make-a-claim portal and a status tracker. Salama has an online claims portal with motor, medical, travel and general sections. Mutakamela, Gulf Union Al Ahlia and the Orient branch point customers to e-services portals for submission and tracking. Chubb Arabia separates motor and non-motor claims portals and links motor accidents to Najm.
- WhatsApp. LIVA lists a make-a-claim page, a WhatsApp chat and a claims centre open Sunday to Thursday. Al Rajhi Takaful offers WhatsApp chat from its site. No other insurer in the list names WhatsApp as a claims channel.
- Not stated on their site. For nine insurers we found no claims channel described: Walaa and Al Sagr describe apps for buying cover or for health, not for claims; UCA, ACIG, Gulf Insurance Group, Gulf General, Wataniya, Amana and Saudi Enaya either block automated access or show no claims route without a login. Arabia Insurance lists a policy app and a medical approvals line, no claims app. Aljazira Takaful routes medical claims through its TPA's app.
On the TPA side, the picture is medical. GlobeMed, Nextcare and Total Care Saudi describe member apps and provider portals for health claims. Two TPAs are different: Gapcorp administers motor and extended-warranty claims, and Waypoint Arabia runs an online claim intake page for motor, device and general claims. Tree, licensed as agent and TPA, has an app and an online claim submission.
None of the 29 insurer sites describes video as a claims channel, and none describes how it checks whether a photo was taken at the scene or pulled from the gallery. That is simply what the sites say.
What this means if you handle claims
Every channel above accepts what the customer already has on their phone. An app upload, a portal document step and a WhatsApp message all take a file from the gallery, and the provenance of that file, when and where it was taken and on which device, is not something the channel shows the handler. Najm's scene photos cover the accident moment for motor; property, marine, engineering and other damage still arrive as loose files.
That is the gap Venta Capture, a product of VentaVid, is built for. The claimant gets a secure, personal capture link, opens it in the browser with no app and no account, and is guided step by step to record the damage now, on this device. The submission arrives as a sealed submission: a SHA-256 fingerprint, a downloadable manifest a third party can verify, a recorded session timeline and automatic device signals, 28 control points in all. Where a form allows an extra upload from the gallery, that item is labelled "Provenance: Not verified" and checked on metadata and on whether the image already exists online, so the handler sees what can and cannot be proven for each item.
Two limits, stated plainly. The server-side timestamp proves when the submission was received, not when the damage occurred. And signals are reasons for a person to look, never a verdict; Venta Capture does not decide claims and does not detect fraud. What it changes is the quality of the digital evidence the handler starts from, which is where claims cycle time and claims leakage are usually won or lost.
If you want to see what a sealed motor or property submission looks like against your own first notification of loss flow, start for free and send yourself a capture link. It takes about ten minutes to have the first flow live.
Frequently asked questions
How many insurance companies are licensed in Saudi Arabia?
The Insurance Authority's register of 10 September 2026 lists 30 insurance companies, including 2 takaful operators, 2 reinsurers, 2 foreign branches, 1 mortgage guarantee company and 1 insurer whose licence date has lapsed. Of these, 24 are listed on the Saudi Exchange (Tadawul).
Who regulates insurance in Saudi Arabia?
The Insurance Authority (IA), established to take over insurance supervision from the Saudi Central Bank (SAMA). It licenses insurers, reinsurers, foreign branches, brokers, agents, TPAs, loss adjusters and actuaries, and publishes the licensed-companies register on ia.gov.sa.
Is motor insurance compulsory in Saudi Arabia?
Yes. Every vehicle must carry at least third-party liability cover under the Unified Compulsory Motor Insurance Policy, which sets a maximum insurer liability of SAR 10 million per event for bodily injury, expenses and material damage combined. Comprehensive cover is optional. The Authority's 2025 report counts 11 million insured vehicles.
What is Najm, and why is it on this list?
Najm for Insurance Services is the unified motor accident reporting and assessment entity for the Saudi market. It attends accidents, documents them and apportions fault for all Saudi insurers, and its app supports reporting, scene photos and status tracking. The register licenses it as an assessor and loss adjuster and as a TPA, which is why it sits in the adjuster table as an assessment entity.
What is a TPA in the Saudi market?
A third-party administrator handles claims and policy administration on behalf of an insurer. In Saudi Arabia most licensed TPAs administer medical claims; a smaller group, including Gapcorp and Waypoint Arabia, administers motor, warranty and general claims.
How do I check whether a Saudi insurer is licensed?
Download the current "Licensed Companies" PDF from the Insurance Authority's licences page on ia.gov.sa. Each entry carries the company's unified number, activity type and licence expiry date. If the company is not in the PDF, or its expiry date has passed, ask the Authority before placing business.
Keep the list, fix the evidence
Licences expire, branches open, TPAs merge. We refresh this list when the Authority publishes a new register; corrections sent to support@ventavid.com go in the same day.
If your claims team in the Kingdom receives damage photos through an app, a portal or WhatsApp and wants to know which of them were taken at the scene, book a demo and we'll walk through a sealed submission against one of your real claim types.

